Vehicles have been an integral part of society for many generations. Unfortunately, laws that preside over their use are often taken for granted or ignored. An auto accident can occur at any time or place. Motor-vehicle accident laws have been formulated to protect drivers in case the unexpected happens. Accidents involving motor vehicles create the need for insurance, which can seem complicated or even unnecessary to many drivers. Moreover, motor-vehicle accident laws vary from state-to-state.
In Florida for instance, there is a “no tolerance” law for those 21-years or younger who are caught under the influence while driving. The legal limit is set at .02 so there is no room for error. For starters, a driver’s license is revoked for six months. The limit for drivers over 21 is .08, and they could lose their license for a year. Either way, the costs for a first offense in Florida stack up to around $8000.00. In contrast, California drivers who are under 21-years of age lose their license for one year for a first offense, whereas drivers over 21 are subject to a four-month suspension. Penalties are much more severe if the driver does not pass a chemical blood or urine test, or if the incident involves an accident or injury.
Michigan is a “no-fault” state, in which most standard responsibilities for car owners are reversed compared to those in other states. For instance, a driver must seek benefits from their own insurance company instead of filing a claim with another driver’s insurance company. The upside to this is that if they are hit by an uninsured motorist, they still receive benefits from the insurance company of their choice. Another upside to no-fault insurance is the motivational factor to obey the law and buy vehicle insurance, since the responsibility for coverage falls on the shoulders of the driver. Unfortunately for Michigan drivers, there is a $65.00 charge to help cover the cost for uninsured motorists.
Like most states, Texas motor-vehicle laws require drivers to buy Liability insurance, in which drivers are responsible to pay for the damages or injury they cause in an accident. If a person still owes on a vehicle loan, they are required by their lender to purchase Collision and Comprehensive insurance. Collision covers for repair or replacement of the vehicle in case of an accident, and Comprehensive covers loss or damage due to vandalism, theft, or fire.
In all states, motor-vehicle accident laws are designed to protect or assist drivers, passengers, or innocent bystanders in case of a mishap or accident involving a motor vehicle. Important as the laws are, they are often seen as a hindrance rather than a help. Many people pay for coverage all their lives and never need it; even so, there is usually a loved one or neighbor who represents the percentage who has benefited from motor-vehicle accident laws.